20DL 235667, ex Ministry of Supply, returned o RH and reconditioned 1946. Despatched to Melbourne and Metropolitan Board of Works. Converted to 3 ft 6 in gaugefor use by Cornwall Coal Co. Tasmania. Seen here —————->>> in 1978 at Van Diemen Light Railway Society Tasmania. (Photo: John Browning Collection )
The Ruston is now running on a 2 ft gauge.
What an incredible transformation
The Ruston, with its unique sloping engine cowling, serial number 235667, was constructed in 1945 as one of a batch of two foot gauge engines built in Lincoln for the British Ministry of Supply, it did not see war service and was reconditioned before being sent to Ruston and Hornsby, Australia, for resale. It was sold to the Melbourne and Metropolitan Board of Works, Victoria and used for water storage construction projects. It was later sold to Cornwall Coal Co, Fingal Valley in Tasmania. Acquired by the Don River Railway it was subsequently donated to the Sheffield Steam and Heritage Centre.
The diesel motor had to be replaced. With that job completed by dedicated volunteers the machine was trucked to the Railway’s site at Spring Street, Sheffield in February 2020.
Chairman of the Redwater Creek Steam and Heritage Society, Mr Martin went on to say that this acquisition would allow the Society to run two trains at times of peak demand. The restored former Dulverton Railway Station will grace an island platform which was completed in March 2021 and it allows the two trains to pass each other in complete safety.
He said that it was most gratifying that the confluence of good fortune and the hard work of many volunteers was making the Redwater Creek Railway into a premier tourist attraction in the Kentish region.
The Ruston locomotive is on display to the public in the Locomotive Shed.